Trois danses
(Three Dances) for oboe solo and harp solo, string quintet and string orchestra

Year of composition




Scored for

For oboe, harp, string quintet and string orchestra (at least 7 6 5 4 3)
1. Seguiriya - 2. Soledad - 3. Rumba
Dedication: ‘Ecrit pour Ursula et Heinz Holliger’

Publication information

Universal Edition (UE30390/30391); study score available at Musikproduktion Hoeflich (mph350)


World premiere: Zürich, 9 October 1970. Heinz Holliger, oboe; Ursula Holliger, harp; Paul Sacher, conductor

Recordings (selective list)

  • Henk Swinnen, oboe; Kerstin Scholten, harp; Quirine Viersen, cello
    Netherlands Chamber Orchestra
    Kenneth Montgomery, conductor
    Etcetera KTC 1290 ℗ + © CODA BVBA 2005 (FMS057)

  • Version for soprano saxophone (arr. Christoph Enzel, 2005)
    ‘Frank Martin and the saxophone’
    Arno Bornkamp, soprano saxophone; Danielle Riegel, harp
    Residentie Orkest
    Etienne Siebens, conductor
    OTR C12095 ℗2012 (FMS003)

  • Heinz Holliger, oboe; Ursala Holliger, harp
    String quintet: Kenneth Sillito & Malcolm Latchem violin; Robert Smissen, viola; John Heley, cello; Christopher Laurence, double bass
    Academy of St. Martin in the Fields
    Sir Neville Marriner, conductor
    Philips 434 105-2 ℗ 1993 (FMS065)

  • Hansjörg Schellenberger, oboe; Margit-Anna Süss, harp
    Franz Liszt - Kammerorchester Budapest
    Zoltán Peskó, conductor
    Campanella Musica C1300405 © + ℗ 1998 (FMS111)

< Previous page